Florida Firearm Sales FAQ

Frequently Asked Questions About Gun Sales

Questions Regarding Firearm Sales & Purchases

Chipley Gun & Pawn, Inc., takes the sale and transfer of all firearms seriously and strictly abides by the laws set forth by Federal, State and Local law enforcement officials in such transactions. The below is general information related to the requirements needed in order to purchase a firearm in the State of Florida. All requirements are subject to change.

Handgun Sales - (3-Day Waiting Period)

The State of Florida, and Federal Regulations require that to purchase a handgun in the State of Florida the purchaser must meet the following criteria :

  • Must Be A Registered Florida Resident
  • A State Issued Photo ID Is Required
  • Purchaser Must Be 21 Years of Age or Older
  • Buyer Must Pass A Federal Firearms Background Check
  • Florida Concealed Weapons permit holders are exempt from the waiting period

Long Gun Sales - (3-Day Waiting Period)

To purchase a long gun (rifle, shotgun, etc) in the State of Florida, the following criteria must be met by the buyer :

  • Purchaser May Be From Another State (Check your local state laws)
  • A State Issued Photo ID Is Required
  • Must Be At Least 21 Years of Age or Older or Be Certified Law Enforcement, Active Duty Military
  • Buyer Must Pass A Federal Firearms Background Check
  • Florida Concealed Weapons permit holders are exempt from the waiting period

Firearm Transfers

Chipley Gun & Pawn are licensed FFL Holders. You can purchase a firearm out of state and have it shipped to our store or you can take advantage of discount prices by ordering your firearm directly through us, however, we do not ship firearms. Transfer fees will vary.

E-FILE: Get Your NFA Stamp FASTER by E-File

The ATF e-Form 4 makes the transfer or purchase of an NFA item (suppressor or short-barreled rifle) faster, easier, and in as little as 90 days.

STEP 1: Create your e-forms account BEFORE visiting us or I can help you through the process.
STEP 2: Bring your PIN # and User information with you, if you chose to set up your e-form account before coming into store.
STEP 3: We will fingerprint you and take your passport photo to complete the process. (This has to be done for each suppressor you purchase.)
STEP 4: Credit cards and Cash are accepted for payment of $200 dollar tax stamp for each suppressor you purchase.

Store Fees: $25 for an individual | $45 for trusts | $10 for each responsible person on the trust

We Are Responsible Dealers

Chipley Gun & Pawn believes that firearm safety should not be taken lightly. We make the voluntary effort to supply a free gun safety - trigger lock with all firearm purchases.

Have Questions?

Need Assistance?

Cash, Checks, Trade and Most Major Credit Cards Accepted.

© 2023, Chipley Gun & Pawn, Inc |    john warren, llc